The National Studio

connecting young writers with Australia’s leading playwrights

Each year, twenty emerging writers (aged 18-26) are selected from all over Australia to spend a week at Bundanon, Arthur Boyd’s beautiful property on the Shoalhaven River in NSW.

During the residency, the writers are mentored and nurtured by three leading playwrights through masterclasses, small group tutorials and one-on-one sessions in a formative creative experience. A selection of the pieces created during the week forms our showcase production Intersection during the following year.

For the first eight years of The National Studio, participants worked to develop their craft and in the process created a 7-minute monologue for 17-year-old actors as part of The Voices Project. From 2016, the brief for the writers changed to incorporate works for one, two or more actors and the production Intersection was born. 

We couldn’t run National Studio without the support of the Graeme Wood Foundation, Copyright Agency, and the Crown Resorts Foundation and the Packer Family Foundation.

Applications for the 2021 National Studio open
Wednesday 7 April

the 2021 national studio


Writers must be aged 18-26 years old at 19 July 2021
Writers can be based anywhere in Australia. Applications are encouraged from writers based outside NSW
Writers can be of any experience level from beginner to professional.


7 April – Applications open
10 May
– Applications due by 5pm
19-24 July – National Studio 2021

For further information please contact us on 02 9270 2400 or


Applications for 2020 are now closed.

Information on writers and mentors from past years

  • Eric Jiang (NSW)

  • Ryan Dell (NSW)

  • Laura McInnes (NSW)

  • Harriet Lugsdin (NSW)

  • Jacob Parker (NSW)

  • Simon Croker (NSW)

  • Diana Reid (NSW)

  • Sevgi Murphy (Regional NSW)

  • Alexandra Travers (Regional NSW)

  • Claire Ferguson (NSW - Western Sydney)

  • Hannah Belanszky (QLD)

  • Katherine Sortini (SA)

  • Michal Hughes (Regional SA)

  • Rosemary Cann (TAS)

  • Isabel Knight (VIC)

  • Benjamin Nichol (VIC)

  • Zachary Sheridan (VIC)

  • Vivian Nguyen (VIC)

  • Sian Murphy (WA)

  • Jacob Sgouros (WA)

  • :: MENTORS ::

  • Vanessa Bates

  • Mary Anne Butler

  • Jane FitzGerald

  • Chris Isaacs

the voices project 2011-2016

Each year from 2011 – 2016 ten monologues were selected from the work created by the participants of the National Studio to go on to form The Voices Project production. It brought together the best new monologue writing from ATYP’s emerging playwright program, giving it a place on stage. Check out more in our Past Productions.

Some of the outstanding monologues from The Voices Project were adapted for film. Highlights below: